Duke of Edinburgh Award

The Legion is a strong supporter of the Duke of Edinburgh’s Award, which is an international program operated in more than 45 countries. The awards were established in Canada in 1963 and since that time, over 100,000 able, disabled and disadvantaged youth have participated in the program. There are three Award Categories:

  • Bronze for those over 14
  • Silver for those over 15
  • Gold for those over 16

To earn an Award, a participant must undertake a balanced program of activities in four important areas of self-development:

  • Voluntary Service
  • Skill Development
  • Physical Recreation
  • Expeditions

In each case a series of realistic challenges must be set by the individual and overcome through individual effort.

For more information on the Duke of Edinburgh Award both provincially here in New Brunswick, and across the country, you may visit the National Duke of Edinburgh website.